EEVblog #703 – Rigol DS1054Z Oscilloscope Review Summary

EEVblog #703 – Rigol DS1054Z Oscilloscope Review Summary

Dave reviews the new Rigol DS1054Z Oscilloscope.
Is this US$399 marvel really the best value budget oscilloscope on the market?
This is a summary video, be sure to watch all the other videos on this scope:
Full features review: http://youtu.be/W2qdtQkBKhc
Teardown: http://youtu.be/kb9P1Am9aFU
Jitter Problem: http://youtu.be/kcOdzFaIYNE
Jitter Problem Fix: http://youtu.be/K1IJH9aJvgE
Reverse Engineering: http://youtu.be/lJVrTV_BeGg

Forum: http://www.eevblog.com/forum/blog/eevblog-703-rigol-ds1054z-oscilloscope-review-summary/

EEVblog Main Web Site: http://www.eevblog.com
The 2nd EEVblog Channel: http://www.youtube.com/EEVblog2

Support the EEVblog through Patreon!
http://www.patreon.com/eevblog

EEVblog Amazon Store (Dave gets a cut):
http://astore.amazon.com/eevblogstore-20
Donations:

Donate


Projects:

Projects


Electronics Info Wiki:
http://www.eevblog.com/wiki/

50 Comments

  1. Gary McKinnon on May 23, 2020 at 4:14 pm

    Love it, i’m sold, buying it right now.

  2. MA P on May 23, 2020 at 4:16 pm

    Looking to pick this model up for my bench at under $300USD and thanks to Dave once again, I can make an informed decision to move forward!

  3. Bodragon on May 23, 2020 at 4:17 pm

    (0:31) – "bells and wussools"?
    Sorry Dave.
    Couldn’t resist.
    I know.
    I’m pond life.
    Great video. I actually bought this scope on the strength of your review here so I really do have a lot to be both thankful and grateful for. Well, from EEVblog anyway.
    All the best Dave. Merry xmas and Happy New Year! from London! xxx

  4. Mahmoud Gaber on May 23, 2020 at 4:19 pm

    I’ve bought it recently, it’s adorable

  5. Nine thirty one on May 23, 2020 at 4:19 pm

    I have a single channel 10Mhz analog scope with 4 inch screen

    can I have one please? I am suffering

  6. Tim Baker on May 23, 2020 at 4:24 pm

    As a first year electrical engineering student, do you think this scope would let me down later in my studies?

    It’s a lot cheaper then the scopes we have in the labs at uni.

  7. Drum bum on May 23, 2020 at 4:25 pm

    sub’d. where’s my cookie?

  8. gam3ov3r on May 23, 2020 at 4:25 pm

    What do you think about Tektronix TBS1104 , is good for entry level or can do more than that?

  9. BergRD on May 23, 2020 at 4:25 pm

    Looking to pick up a newbie scope and wondering if this is still a good buy? I see it’s only 50mhz and the Siglent, at a comparable price, is 200mhz. For hobby level builds, teardowns and repairs; which is better for me? Thanks!

  10. Balan Bogdan on May 23, 2020 at 4:26 pm

    Nice ,I got one for 400 USD.

  11. JCLiveSound on May 23, 2020 at 4:28 pm

    Just happened to be in Melbourne droped in to emona and picked one up. Fantastic people there even showed me around the scope. I brought this scope because of your review cheers mate 🙂

  12. Amitesh Singh on May 23, 2020 at 4:28 pm

    And i bought it….

  13. Jacob D on May 23, 2020 at 4:29 pm

    Hey Dave, got a question for you. I have a Rigol DS1054Z and wondered if I could hook it up to a 3.5mm audio output to see the signal, will doing so hurt my scope? I know your probably wondering why I would want to do this, and all I can say is being nerdy!! 🙂 I hook the ground to gorund and can I use two of the channels to see the left and right signal? I don’t want to blow it up, i’m still new at using an Oscilloscope.

  14. Rob Webster on May 23, 2020 at 4:29 pm

    Great vid, I have the MSO1074 I have L.A. and Source below the CH4 button with two more BNCs above the Trigger Out/ Pass/ Fail.

  15. gazalaem on May 23, 2020 at 4:30 pm

    I hear many people advise that if you want to work with 50 Mhz you need a 100Mhz scope. It seems to me that with a DSO the behavior is more a function of the overall sampling rate than the maximum bandwidth. In other words this scope would behave the same when analyzing a 49 Mhz signal whether you have the 100 Mhz feature enabled or not. Is my reasoning correct? Can you comment?

  16. GBCLab on May 23, 2020 at 4:31 pm

    Has it dB/dBm measure feature?

  17. Guns Cars and Digits on May 23, 2020 at 4:31 pm

    Well, 3 years have gone by. You can get it for $350 now. Thanks! Great scope.

  18. C MJ on May 23, 2020 at 4:31 pm

    I am looking at getting the Hantek DSO5102P. It is a 100mhz scope for $259 US and that is tough to beat. For a Hobbyist like myself it is a great scope. Not really for the professional, but I am not and don’t want to break the bank buying a scope I will only use twice per week. The Rigol is about $399, so still a bit high and I don’t need a four channel scope, not to mention it is 50mhz.

  19. Lawrence Mc Coig on May 23, 2020 at 4:33 pm

    Question: If this scope is powered with 12 volt D.C. power inverter to 120 volts with 25 Watts or more wattage. Would any measurements be affected by inverted power source. I bought the Rigol DS1054Z with your bang for the buck recommendation and have been happy to get started learning the oscilloscope. A lot of bells and whistles ahead to learn about!

  20. James Kiricov on May 23, 2020 at 4:34 pm

    I based my purchase of the Rigol DS1054z based on your reviews of it! I trust you. No regrets yet, thanks for being straightforward and honest. Keep up the great work you do. BTW paid $349.99 on Amazon lol

  21. Joe Drigon on May 23, 2020 at 4:36 pm

    It’s 2020 now is there a newer Rigol coming out anytime soon at this price point?

  22. i Repair Electronics on May 23, 2020 at 4:36 pm

    just purchased one. as one who is used to old analog scopes. i LIKE Digital. yes its not as "alive" as the old analogs, but response time is good and the multi colors are a blessing. not to mention all the little info windows. and of course the size of the thing means it wont hog up my entire bench. still getting used to how it behaves and all. One thing i know is that all this functionality back 20 some odd years ago would have been $20,000 in a lecroy or something similar.

  23. MaPorcaTrotaATutti on May 23, 2020 at 4:37 pm

    Is this still a good scope for the money?

  24. stclairstclair on May 23, 2020 at 4:37 pm

    It’s in the "Amazon Wish List" How many months till x mass?!
    I just picked up a Pomona 50 ohm 2 watt termination connector and a Tektronix 50 ohm 2 watt termination connector at Goodwill, In a sandwich bag of banana plug connectors for 99 cents!

  25. Richard Campbell on May 23, 2020 at 4:38 pm

    Great review, and I appreciate the summary. I’ve been on the fence but assuming I can convince my other half then I’m taking the plunge.

  26. James Bordon on May 23, 2020 at 4:38 pm

    Where can I get the -S version with function generator?

  27. Adam Rennison on May 23, 2020 at 4:40 pm

    Nice oscilloscope. Boot up time around 22 seconds not something should really be concerned about as you really should let the scope warm up anyways. But thanks for your review and love your channel

  28. Nature & Travel on May 23, 2020 at 4:42 pm
  29. Pingu McPing on May 23, 2020 at 4:46 pm

    2020 calling. Still worth it?

  30. Alex Ramos on May 23, 2020 at 4:46 pm

    Hello, is it Rigol DS1054Z still the best choice for a first oscilloscope?

  31. radoczi94 on May 23, 2020 at 4:46 pm

    I just bought this scope. The manufacturer offers the software options for free until March 31. 2018. Anyone who wants to buy it, do it now.

  32. Stan Pop on May 23, 2020 at 4:47 pm

    Hi, I gues Rigol DS1054Z is better than Hantek DSO4084B. Wich should I buy? Thanks.

  33. achwal on May 23, 2020 at 4:49 pm

    Can it decode canbus and IIC ?

  34. Havana Woody on May 23, 2020 at 4:50 pm

    I’m really glad that I watched this follow up, I’m just at the age I dont think it’s a good idea to comprimise on display size . Already squint on a clamp on. Separate buttons for each channel probably a hidden aggravation I’m willing to dig up another bengerman or 2 for.

  35. Goutam DAS on May 23, 2020 at 4:51 pm

    Excellent review! Can you please post an updated video with comparison of competitiors. Also can you please include vertical resolution? Thanks in advance

  36. Really Nice Audio on May 23, 2020 at 4:51 pm

    2017 and still rocking!!!

  37. Gibbedy G on May 23, 2020 at 4:57 pm

    Does the last 2.5 minutes of this video still apply in 2018. Thanks.

  38. YouTube YouTube on May 23, 2020 at 4:58 pm

    Wow

  39. Hoani Bryson on May 23, 2020 at 4:58 pm

    26 people can’t read the small text

  40. Robin Sattahip on May 23, 2020 at 4:59 pm

    Great, almost priceless to get an unbiased assessment of these scopes. Thank you, it’s $370 through aliexpress.

  41. GAK1atatt on May 23, 2020 at 5:00 pm

    5 years later is there any new 4ch scope at this price that surpasses this one?

  42. Aaron Young on May 23, 2020 at 5:00 pm

    Just pulled the trigger (almost 4 years later) on the purchase of the DS1054Z with all options bundled. Still pretty good value in November 2018.

  43. Paul Towle on May 23, 2020 at 5:01 pm

    Bought one of these scopes too! Absolutely AWESOME!!
    Was so impressed, I bought one at work too. Makes our £12,000 Tektronix look poor value!
    If you want a scope ….GO BUY THIS!!
    You can’t go wrong! 👍👍

  44. Ryan Bevin on May 23, 2020 at 5:01 pm

    slick piece of kit

  45. Lord Scarecrow on May 23, 2020 at 5:03 pm

    Where can I buy it? Is it still relevant?

  46. TurkeyJoe on May 23, 2020 at 5:03 pm

    I just got one of these for a company I work for because, even though its a little older it still seems to be a great scope for the price. We paid about AU$600 with all the options installed from the factory. This is first scope I’ve used (I am learning how to use it now as we need to do some testing on ESD protection on I/O Arduino pins). The first thing my employer told me was to NEVER connect the test probe tip and the corresponding ground clip together or it could blow the scope. I’m skeptical, could this be true?

  47. EdEditz on May 23, 2020 at 5:03 pm

    At 7:30 Dave says there are no High or Lowpass filters in this scope but there are now. They updated the firmware and included Low-pass, High-pass, Band-pass and Band-stop filters. They are under the ‘Math’ functions all the way at the bottom and you can set the response frequencies etc. You’ll need to scroll down the math options all the way before they become visible.

  48. Daveyk021 on May 23, 2020 at 5:04 pm

    Can you change the trigger points for pulse width from 50% to some other points like 10%?

    The Siglent looks like a better value for $400 (300Mhz) but you can not define the points where the pulse width is measured. So I would still stick with a used Trek TDS series.

  49. zokonjazokonja on May 23, 2020 at 5:08 pm

    Is warranty still valid after hacking?

  50. Kasper Jensen on May 23, 2020 at 5:10 pm

    Is this still a good budget scope for audio electronics applications today?

Leave a Comment